Life goes on….

Winter is ending and we got some real snow here. We have a good friend John Lutz who plows us out. He always shows up. The house is warm and we still have wood but it is buried under the snow.

My little sister Jeannie has been baking and sending us cookies and bread. I appreciate the good food and that last loaf of honey bread was the best bread so far. I got some good preserves, now the girls want the best kind…

Jeannie honey bread
My window

When I set at my excellent Vermont wooden desk this is my view. I try to keep the bird feeder full but the chipmunks eat plenty of it.

A clean refrigerator

One day I got up and cleaned our refrigerator. It was a good 3 hour job. Threw out half the stuff. I complain that I do all the cleaning, laundry and food buying. It keeps me going.

Jordan’s Shop

He got promoted. He is now the Manager. He is a great salesman and we are proud of him.

Our cat Bob is taking drugs.
1940s ladies

Edith Simpson on the left, my dad’s mom from Portadown, Northern Ireland, in the middle is Rebecca Emmott, my mom’s grandmom from Burnley, UK. and on the right is my Nana.

Mary Alice Emmott, 17 years old, sailed on the S.S. Vestris with her parents James Henry and Rebecca Emmott from Liverpool on 13 March 1920 and arrived at the Port of New York 25 March 1920.

I remember all 3 of these ladies. Edith was a staunch Republican and loved Nixon. Rebecca Emmott had a little black and white TV and we watched it together in her room. She gave me butterscotch candies which I still love today. My nana had a lovely accent and loved gardening and was independent. She drove my mom and aunt Donna across the country by herself back in the 1930s.

My mom and dome in 1973.
Zachary and John’s new kitchen

After months of planning, Zachary and John have a new kitchen. I think it looks great. Needs some plants and clutter😃. I am jealous and want to tear out my pathetic kitchen. That is now Jordan and the girls problem.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment