Goodbye Siam..Hello Laos

I have had a wonderful month here in Thailand. Tonite I sit next to the Mekong River in Chiang Khong. In the morning we cross the river and enter Laos.

Most of my time has been spent in Chiang Mai..the second biggest city  in Thailand.  I have become very happy to be in this city.  It is surrounded by a moat. I would like to come back here soon.  I have my favorite street place to get my pad thai..my favorite bakery..and this is a walking town.

On Sunday afternoons there is a street market and it seems most of the city is there.. Plenty of street food..music and things to buy.

I did get to visit Wiang Haeng up north in the mountains. We stayed at a cowboy resort and it was cold but interesting.

I just vegged out in Chiang Mai for Christmas week. can’t say I did much..just enjoyed myself..good food and a massage everyday.

I bought a ticket for a 3 day tour out of Thailand, across the border to Laos and a 2 day boat ride to the center of Laos.

Now writing this on a long slow boat on the Mekong.. Over 140 people on this..most of them tourists. Spent the night in Pak Beng, half way to our destination. Room cost $12  no wifi but a TV with a hundred channels..none in English.

Now I am in Luang Prabang..very different place than Thailand.. Took a very long walk today… This place is where 2 rivers cross and another World heritage site.. I seem to run into them all over the world… Have not posted for several days got an email from hell from someone I love and have been in a blue funk for a week..

So here it is… will try to get better at this..

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment